Officer of the Year

Mike Siitari

The Officer of the Year Award is named after Mike Siitari, who served as Police Chief from 1999 to 2009 during his 31-year tenure with the Edina Police Department. The Award recognizes an Edina Police Officer each year who has gone above and beyond the call of duty.

Mike Siitari Officer of the Year Award

The Mike Siitari Officer of the Year award is given to one Edina Police Officer each year. Nominations from the public and City employees are accepted and winners are selected by the Edina Crime Fund. Individuals eligible for nomination must be police officers for the Edina Police Department. A partner to the Edina Police Department since the late 1960s, the Edina Crime Prevention Fund has been a significant contributor to many Police services and programs. For more information about the Fund, visit Edina Crime Fund.

How to Nominate

To nominate a candidate for officer of the year, submit the name of the officer and a few sentences describing the nominee’s achievements. Nominations for the award can be made by emailing Nancy Karkhoff or writing to:
Edina Crime Prevention Fund
Re: Officer of the Year
4801 W 50th Street
Edina, MN 55424

Past Recipients

  • 2017 Sergeant Brian Hubbard
  • 2016 Detective Erik Amundson
  • 2015 Officer Mike Seeger
  • 2014 Officer Jake Heckert
  • 2013 Detective Mike Lutz
  • 2012 Officer Dave Lindman
  • 2011 Officer Joel Moore