Officer of the Year

Each year, the Crime Prevention Fund recognizes an Edina Police Officer who has gone above and beyond the call of duty. Community members and City staff are encouraged to submit nominations for Edina officers who modeled exemplary service and leadership through innovation and public relations in 2017. Individuals eligible for nomination must be current Police Officers for the Edina Police Department.

The 2017 Mike Siitari Officer of the Year Award was awarded to Sgt. Brian Hubbard. Hubbard joined the Edina Police Department in 2007 and has served as a Patrol Officer, Drug Recognition Expert, Field Training Officer and School Resource Officer. In addition, he organized the Edina Citizen’s Academy, which has seen more than 150 graduates since its inception in 2009. Hubbard was promoted to Sergeant in 2014 and has served as both dayshift and nightshift sergeants.

In addition to his good work with the City of Edina, Hubbard also has organized a personal endeavor called Racing for the Community. He has committed to running in full uniform in 18 races to raise money for LEMA and Cornerstone, as well as to inspire others to get to know members of law enforcement in new and different ways. His progress towards this goal can be found online at

Brian Hubbard Officer of the Year

The Edina Crime Fund has been a community partner for over 40 years, helping fund Police Department services and recognize exceptional officers. The Officer of the Year Award is named after Mike Siitari, who served as Police Chief from 1999 to 2009 during his 31-year tenure with the Edina Police Department. Winners are selected by members of the Edina Crime Prevention Fund. Past recipients of the award include Officers Joel Moore, Dave Lindman, Jake Heckert, Mike Seeger, Det. Mike Lutz and Det. Erik Amundson.

To nominate a candidate for the 2018 Officer of the Year Award, submit the name of the officer and a few sentences describing the nominee’s achievements.

For more information, contact the Edina Police Department at 952-826-1610.


To nominate a candidate, submit the name of the officer and a few sentences describing the nominee’s achievements. Nominations for the award can be sent to Nancy Karkhoff or:

Edina Crime Prevention Fund
Re: Officer of the Year
4801 W 50th Street
Edina, MN 55424