Arts & Culture Commission

The Edina Arts & Culture Commission is, by City Ordinance, a formalized independent advisory board of the Edina City Council. Comprised of 11 volunteer members (including two students), Board members are appointed for limited three-year terms by the Mayor with approval from the Edina City Council.

Along with the Edina Art Center staff, this working Commission strives to build a vibrant community through support of arts and culture in Edina, and guides and supports general development of artistic initiatives in the City of Edina,including the Edina Art Center. The Commission provides recommendations to the City Council concerning collaboration, communication, facilities, activities and programs in art and cultural activities.

The Arts & Culture Commission was established in May 2013 to help build a vibrant community through art and culture as the City Council finds that the encouragement and enhancement of the arts in Edina is vital to the social and cultural well-being of the City and its residents.


Click here to download Arts & Culture Commission bylaws.

Work Plan:

Click here to download the 2016 work plan.


All meetings are open to the public.

4:30 p.m.
4th Thursday of the month
Community Room
Edina City Hall
4801 W. 50th St.

The City of Edina is currently accepting applications for the Business Energy Efficiency and Residential Energy Efficiency working groups.

2016 Meetings Calendar

Click here to view the 2016 calendar of City Council, Boards and Commission meetings.

Contact Information

Staff Liaison:
Michael Frey

For more information or other involvement opportunities, contact the Board by emailing

Arts & Culture Commission Members

Chair: Anne Miller
Vice Chair: Cheryl Gunness
Members: Kandace Ellis, Barbara La Valleur, Dana Lappin, Stella Chaffee, Adriana Zabela Tavenas, Ray Meifert and Steve Suckow
Student Members: Olivia Chen and Farhia Osman

© 2016 City Of Edina, Minnesota