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Introduction 
 

This guide is designed to aid merchants in identifying and preventing 
the most common commercial crimes and assisting in  

successful prosecution of those crimes. It is not meant to replace existing  
Federal or State laws or statutes.  All merchants should familiarize themselves 

 with their company’s policies and with current Minnesota State Statutes 
  relating to criminal acts, found at http://www.leg.state.mn.us/leg/statutes.asp. 

 
 

 
 

Retail Crimes Unit 
       

The Retail Crimes Unit of the Edina Police Department is a proactive, plain-clothes unit 
 working in the Southdale Center and the France Avenue commercial corridor.  Officers  

on this team assist merchants in matters relating to commercial crime, either specific  
or on-going problems, and can tailor their hours to address the merchant’s special needs.   

They are also available to respond to ambiguous retail problems or possible criminal situations  
in which the store policy or procedures may restrict employee intervention. 

 
The Retail Crimes Unit can be reached by calling the 24-hour 

 Edina Police Department Communications Center at (952)-826-1600. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

THEFT 
 

Theft is the most common commercial crime.  The theft statute can be found online at 
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=609.52 .  The basic elements of theft as defined 
in Minnesota State Statute 609.52 can be paraphrased as: 

 
The act of intentionally taking, concealing or retaining possession of the 
property of another without the other’s consent and with intent to deprive 
the owner of possession of the property.  

 
The severity of the crime is primarily determined by the pre-tax dollar value of the stolen 
item(s).  If the stolen property has a combined value of more than $1000, the crime is considered 
a felony. If the value is between $500 and $1000, the crime is a gross misdemeanor, and if the 
value is less than $500 the crime is a misdemeanor. 
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EMPLOYEE THEFT 
 
 

Your request for a criminal complaint will be investigated and prepared for prosecution in a 
more timely manner if you follow the guidelines below. Due to the volume of investigations and 
difficulty in prosecution, the Edina Police Department will not investigate complaints of 
employee criminal activity unless the listed steps are followed.  
 
If you are able to prove a loss totaling less than $5000:  
 
1. Conduct an internal investigation and gather all evidence (receipts, video surveillance, 

witnesses, etc.). 
 
2.   Write a complete report including what prompted the investigation and what information was 

obtained as a result of the investigation.  Obtain written statements from witnesses who have 
any knowledge of the incident and include them in the report. 

 
3.   Prepare the report for submission to the Edina Police Department.  The following items 

must be included: 
 

• Citizen’s Arrest Report- This report should be completed anytime an 
employee is taken into custody and held for the police. 

 

• Witness List- The name, address, home, work or cell phone numbers of 
each witness and a summary of the witness’ involvement in or knowledge of 
the incident. 

 
• Incident Report- This report is to be completed by the primary person 

conducting the investigation and should contain all pertinent information 
relating to the investigation as well as the suspect’s full name, date of birth, 
address, home, work or cell phone numbers, physical description, driver’s 
license number, date of employment, etc. 

 
• Evidence- All evidence gathered must be turned over to the Edina Police 

Department, including but not limited to video surveillance, original receipts, 
computer evidence, and checks. 

 
• Interview- If the suspected employee is interviewed, we recommend that the 

conversation be recorded.  In the event that the employee will not speak with 
the police, the transcription of the employer’s interview is admissible in court.  
If recording the interview is not possible, take notes and write a 
supplementary report of the interview with particular attention to any 
admission or denials made by the employee, or have the employee write and 
sign a statement. 
 

4.   Prior to terminating the employee, contact the Edina Police Department and request that an 
officer respond for an employee in custody for theft.  When the officer arrives, supply 
him/her with the items in Number 3 above. The officer will determine if there is probable 
cause for an arrest.  If probable cause exists, the responding officer will initiate an 
investigation and may take the employee into custody. 
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If you are able to prove a loss in excess of $5000:  
 
1.   Complete the required documentation as described in the above Number 3 for an incident 

involving a loss less than $5000. 
 

2. Contact the Commercial Crimes Sergeant at 952-826-1610.  Provide the Sergeant with a 
summary of your suspected crime and the status of your investigation. 

 
3. The Sergeant will determine a course of action.  A patrol officer or detective may be 

dispatched to meet with you.  If a detective is assigned, the detective will request to be 
present when you interview the employee.  Following review of the case, the detective will 
suggest a course of action.   

 
For the police to make an arrest, all documentation must be complete prior to 
their involvement.  Thorough internal investigations generally involve a large amount of 
paper work.  It is very important to provide on the first page of your report a brief synopsis of the 
alleged crime, the provable loss and what documentation was obtained in conjunction with the 
case (i.e. video surveillance, witness statements or an admission by the suspected employee). 
 
It is difficult for police to receive cooperation from an employee who has been discharged prior 
to police intervention.  Following these guidelines increases the likelihood of criminal 
prosecution of your case.  
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THEFT BY SHOPLIFTING 
 

 
To Deter Shoplifting… 

 
1. Install digital cameras and a multiplex recorder- good photos enhance prosecution. Keep all 

equipment in good condition and retain digital images or tapes for one year.  
 
2. Greet and acknowledge customers entering your store.  Legitimate customers will appreciate 

the service and the shoplifters will know that you are paying attention. Be particularly 
attentive to people who seem anxious and refuse assistance. 

 
3. Observe your customers, particularly their hand and eye movements.  Legitimate customers 

will be inspecting merchandise for size, fit, color, price and value.  Shoplifters will be 
looking around for clerks or cameras. They will generally target items because of price, ease 
of access, or resale value.     

 
4. Watch for customers who select items then migrate toward areas of the store that offer 

concealment.  Large store displays, back walls and cramped spaces often provide cover for 
surreptitious activity.   

 
5. Pay attention to customers with strollers, large bags or purses, they could be used to conceal 

stolen merchandise.  Be conscious of people dressed inappropriately for the weather.  
Shoplifters may wear heavy or loose clothing or large jackets to hide stolen items 
underneath. 

 
6. Groups who enter the store and then split up may be trying to distract you. Have an easy, 

prearranged way to notify other employees if you think something’s happening. 
 
7. Monitor your fitting rooms, limit the number of items taken into a room and inspect the room 

after each use.  Shoplifters will often remove tags and conceal the merchandise while in the 
fitting rooms.  The presence of a store clerk is often the best deterrent for these activities.   

 
 
 

If There’s a Shoplifter in Your Store… 
 
1. Give that person the best customer service they’ve ever had.   
 
2. Let other employees know you are suspicious of the customer so they can help watch the 

suspect and provide an extra set of eyes at the entrance/exit. 
 
3. If you are in a mall with security, call them and request that they walk through your store.   
 
4. If there is a shoplifting incident in progress, call 9-1-1 and effect a citizen’s arrest or wait for 

police assistance.   
 
5.   NEVER put yourself at risk.  If a suspect does shoplift, always follow your company policy.   

If you believe the suspect is violent or dangerous in any way, allow the police to intervene.  
No amount of lost merchandise is worth the risk to your personal safety. 
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MERCHANT DETENTION LAW 
    
Please review Minnesota State Statute 629.366, located online at 
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=629.366 It basically states that any merchant 
or merchant’s employee may detain a person suspected of theft if the merchant or employee has 
reasonable cause to believe the person committed a crime. Examples of “reasonable cause” 
include (but aren’t limited to) 1. you knew you had three items on a rack, the suspect was the 
only person near the rack, and as soon as the suspect left the area there were only two items left 
or 2. the suspect entered your store without a shopping bag, and now has a bag full of 
merchandise and didn’t make any purchases. Reasonable cause is information you can clearly 
explain that would lead any reasonable person to come to the same conclusion. 
 
The purpose of this law is to protect merchants and their employees against civil liability for 
detaining a suspect; however, you are protected when detaining someone only if you can clearly 
explain the reasons why you believe the person you are detaining is a suspect.  Many retailers 
have company policies regarding theft and procedures to follow when a theft occurs.  You should 
know your store policy and always follow those procedures.   
 
 

MAKING AN ARREST 
 

If you believe there is no threat to your safety and you can articulate your reasons for an arrest, 
approach the suspect and identify yourself.  Advise them of your beliefs regarding their 
involvement in a crime and request the return of the merchandise.  Regardless of the suspect’s 
willingness to return the merchandise, advise them they are being detained and are under 
citizen’s arrest for the incident.  Inform the suspect that the police have or will be notified and 
that they will be turned over to the police.  When police arrive, advise them that you have placed 
the person under citizen’s arrest and are requesting the officer take custody of the suspect. 
 
If the value of the stolen items is under $500, the suspect will most likely be issued a citation and 
released.  If the value is $500 or more, the suspect will be taken for booking and processing. 
 
All citizen’s arrests require a report and/or a formal statement from the merchant.  A citizen’s 
arrest report is a written explanation of the incident, and included in this report will be the 
reasons for detaining the suspect, a detailed description of the item(s) stolen and their value, 
suspect information, and names of other employees having knowledge of the incident. Many 
merchants have forms which meet the requirements of a valid citizen’s arrest report. In the event 
you need a report form or assistance in filling it out, the responding officer will provide the help 
needed.     
       
If you do not feel safe conducting a citizen’s arrest or circumstances prevent you from 
confronting a suspect, call the Edina Police at 9-1-1. Identify yourself, your location, 
approximate dollar value of the theft and a description of the suspect. If the suspect is in a 
vehicle, try to get the license plate and a description- make, model, color, year, style, damage, 
direction of travel and any other passengers. That information will be relayed to the responding 
officers and if the police are unable to catch the suspect at that time, your information will help 
to locate him/her later.   
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REPORT WRITING 
    
Report writing is one of the most important aspects of the criminal justice system.  An arrest or 
incident report is a permanent record of your recollection of an event and may be seen and read 
by many people.  These people may include, but are not limited to, your supervisor, the 
responding police officer, other police personnel, the prosecuting attorney, defense attorney, and 
judge.  It is important that your report is legible, understandable and concise.  A good report 
should read like a well-constructed book, providing a chronology of events, character and scene 
descriptions, and an understandable plot.    
 
The following guidelines will help you draft a clear and concise report: 
 
1. Type the report whenever possible, or use a black pen.   
 
2. Write in complete sentences and paragraphs and use correct grammar, punctuation and 

spelling. 
 
3. Include the elements of the crime in the body of the report (refer to state statutes for elements 

of specific crimes). 
 
4.   If you make a mistake, use whiteout or start over.  Scribble marks and crossed out words 

make reports hard to read and are not professional. 
 
5.   Proof read what you have written.  Did you record all pertinent information and details?  
 
6.   Can the sequence of events be easily read and understood? 
 
7.   A report that is not up to acceptable standards may need to be re-written or may be declined 

by the officer who is reviewing the report for submission to the prosecutor.   
 
 

EVIDENCE 
 
Evidence is critical to any case; please observe the following: 
 
1. Police must have the original evidence (i.e. receipts, signed charge slips, checks, etc.). 
 
2. For check cases, handle the check as little as possible, place in an envelope for police. If you 

need to handle it, do so around the edge to prevent print contamination.  
 
3. In cases where a check is returned from the bank, the original must be transferred to the 

police for the case file. 
 
4.   Copy the identification that is offered in a check or credit card transaction whenever possible 

and provide it to police when a matter is determined to be fraudulent. 
 
5.   If you are unsure if something is evidence in a case, leave the item where you found it and 

inform the responding officer; he/she will make the determination. 
 
6.   If your store has video surveillance of an incident, a copy of the video or digital surveillance 

must be supplied to the police as evidence. 
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CHECK AND CREDIT CARD FRAUD 
 

  
Bad check losses of less than $1,500 will be handled by the Bad Check Diversion Program at 1-
800-880-5420 or online at 
http://www.ci.edina.mn.us/content/departments/police_department/PDFs/L5-
30_CheckCreditCardFraudPDF.pdf  
 
A criminal complaint does not guarantee economic recovery of your loss and the Police 
Department is not a collection agency and will not act in that manner. You may want to file a 
civil claim; online information is located at http://www.mncourts.gov/district/4/?page=830  or 
you may call Hennepin County Conciliation Court at (612) 348-2713. 
 
By following the guidelines below, your criminal complaint will be expedited and losses through 
bad checks and credit card fraud will be reduced. The Edina Police Department will accept 
checks for investigation ONLY: 
 
1. If the crime occurred in Edina. 
2. When the MN picture DL or ID card is used for identification. 
3. When the dollar amount of a forged check is $250 or more, unless there are other cases 

pending on the same account that add up to $250. 
4. If the dollar amount of the bad check exceeds $1,500, unless there are other cases pending on 

the same account that total $1,500. 
5. If they are less than 45 days old from date of issue. 
6.    If they are returned by the bank stamped “Forgery”. 
 
The Police Department will NOT accept for investigation: 
 
1. A check written for past consideration (i.e. a bill for an item).  This is not a dishonored 

check.  Nothing has changed, the person still owes you money. 
2. Out-of-state checks. 
3. Post-dated checks. 
4. Checks marked “Stop payment.” 
5. Third party checks. 
6. Checks where the MN DL/ID is not used for identification. 
7. Checks where the dollar amount is under $250 (forgery reports may be taken for 

documentation at any dollar amount). 
8.    Checks that are over 45 days old from date of issue. 
 
 
 
The Edina Police Department requires that merchants record the following information 
about the user of the check or card (unless it’s printed on the check or credit card) when 
accepting checks or credit cards for payment: 
 
1. Name. 
2.   Current address. 
3.   Current phone number. 
4.   MN DL or ID number copied from the ID, and compare the photo to the writer. 
6. Initial the check to indicate that steps 1-4 were completed. 
 



Edina Police Department            4801 W.50th St.             Edina, MN  55424            (952) 826-1610 9 

 
The following items will be needed by the Police Department for evidentiary purposes: 
 
1. The original check or credit card- if recovered. 
2. Documentation of specific loss (receipts, invoice, etc.). 
3. Summary report of all contact and actions taken by the victim or complainant. 
4. A copy of the Demand for Payment notice (p 13) with certified mail receipt or Affidavit of 

Mail Service (p 12) for all NSF, account closed, and insufficient fund checks. 
5. Affidavit of Check Forgery (p 10) for all check forgeries. 
6. Affidavit of Credit Card Forgery (p 11) for all credit card forgeries. 
7. The Fraudulent Check and Credit Card Report (FCCC Report, p 16) for all check and credit 

card cases. 
 
 

“ACCOUNT CLOSED”, “NO ACCOUNT”, “NSF” CHECKS 
 
When you receive a check back from the bank with one of the above notations, you must send a 
Demand for Payment notice (p 13) and the relevant statutory information on pages 14 and 15. 
This is to be sent Certified Mail with a return receipt requested or by regular mail if you 
complete a notarized Affidavit of Mail Service (p 12). A copy of the mail receipt or affidavit 
must be provided to the Police Department. 
 
If the above notice does not bring a resolution to the returned check after five business days, fill 
out the FCCC Report (p 16).  After the listed steps have been taken, contact the Edina Police 
Department at (952) 826-1600. An officer may be dispatched to take an initial complaint report. 
 
 

FORGERY 
 

If the account holder advises you, the bank, or credit card company that the transaction was a 
forgery, attempt to obtain an Affidavit of Check (or Credit Card) Forgery (p10 or p11) signed by 
the account holder.  This should be witnessed by a third party. 
 
In addition to the Affidavit of Forgery, the FCCC Report (p 16) must also be completed. When 
both of these documents have been completed, contact the Police Department at (952) 826-1600 
and advise them that you wish to file a forgery report.   

 
In all of the above cases, the Edina Police Department requires the original documents (receipts, 
checks, the credit card, or anything that was signed), the information of the person who accepted 
the check or credit card and observed the suspect sign for the purchase, and the Fraudulent 
Check and Credit Card Report. 
 
If a forgery occurs in your presence, consider the following options: 
 
1.    If possible, stall the suspect and call Edina Police or security. 
2. Get a physical description of the suspect including height, weight, eye color and clothing. 
3. If possible, safely follow the suspect and note direction of travel, vehicle description, etc. 
4. Follow your store policy and never put yourself at risk. 
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EPD 2573 (01/03) 

 
 
 

AFFIDAVIT of CHECK FORGERY 
 
 
 
 
 
I, _______________________________________, being of sound mind, depose and state: 
   (Account Holder’s Name) 

  
I am of legal age and have examined a certain check drawn on ___________________________ 
          (Account Holder’s Bank) 
 
in the amount of $ ______________, payable to the order of ____________________________, 
 
 
dated ______________, check number ____________, and bearing a facsimile of my signature 
 

 
as drawer. I did not write the said signature, nor did I authorize or procure it to be written, nor at  
 
any time did I ratify its having been written, but that the same is a forgery and was not written by  
 
me; and I did not receive any of the proceeds of said check or any part thereof, either directly or  
 
indirectly. 
 

_________________________  ____________________________________ 
       Date             Signature 

 
       ____________________________________ 
                       Address 
 

 
 

_________________________  ____________________________________ 
       Date                 Witness Signature 

 
EPD 2574 (01/03) 
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AFFIDAVIT of 
CREDIT CARD FORGERY 

 
 

 
 

I, ___________________________________________, being of sound mind, depose and state: 
 
I am of legal age, and have examined the specific receipt from 
 
__________________________________________, in the amount of $ __________________,  
  (Business Establishment) 
 
payable by my transaction card ___________________________________________________, 
       (Credit Card Company) 
 
account # _____________________________________, dated _________________________,  
 
bearing a facsimile of my signature. 
 
The following statements are true: 

 
• I did not write the said signature. 
• I did not authorize it to be written. 
• I did not confirm, approve, or endorse its having been written. 
• The signature is a forgery and was not written by me. 
• I did not receive the proceeds of the transaction or any part thereof, either directly or 

indirectly. 
• I authorized no one to use my name or identification to apply for or obtain credit in my 

name. 
 
 

_______________   ______________________________________ 
  Date       Signature 
 
      ______________________________________ 
        Address 
 
    ________________   ______________________________________ 
  Date           Witness Signature 
 
 
 
EPD 2572 (01/03) 
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AFFIDAVIT of MAIL SERVICE 

 
STATE OF MINNESOTA 
    SS 
COUNTY OF HENNEPIN 
 
_______________________________________, being first duly sworn on oath, states 
that he/she is employed by__________________________________________________, 
and the attached statutory notice and demand for payment is an accurate 
same of the original thereof. The principal thereof was deposited in a U. S. Post 
Office mailbox in the city of_______________________________ on the_______ day 
of_____________, 20______, in a sealed envelope, postage paid, certified/regular 
mail and addressed to _______________________________________________________ 
at his/her address of record as shown on his/her check. The said original 
thereof was/was not returned to the undersigned undeliverable or for any other 
reason. 
 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME AT THIS  
 
__________________________________ DAY OF ____________________ 20 ______ 
 
 

 

AFFIDAVIT of MAIL SERVICE 

 
STATE OF MINNESOTA 
    SS 
COUNTY OF HENNEPIN 
 
________________________________________, being first duly sworn on oath, states 
that he/she is employed by__________________________________________________, 
and the attached statutory notice and demand for payment is an accurate 
same of the original thereof. The principal thereof was deposited in a U. S. Post 
Office mailbox in the city of_______________________________ on the_______ day 
of_____________, 20______, in a sealed envelope, postage paid, certified/regular 
mail and addressed to _______________________________________________________ 
at his/her address of record as shown on his/her check. The said original 
thereof was/was not returned to the undersigned undeliverable or for any other 
reason. 
 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME AT THIS 
_____________________________________________ DAY OF ____________________ 20 ______ 
 
 
EPD 2571 (01/03) 
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NOTICE and DEMAND  
for PAYMENT of DISHONORED CHECK 

 
 
DATE:  __________/__________/__________ 
         MONTH      DAY    YEAR 
 
NAME:_______________________________________________________________________ 
 
ADDRESS:____________________________________________________________________ 
  STREET     CITY   STATE  ZIP CODE 
 
ON CHECK:___________________________________________________________________ 
  STREET     CITY   STATE  ZIP CODE 
 
YOU ARE HEREBY NOTIFIED THAT A CHECK DATED________/__________/_________,  
                MONTH          DAY    YEAR  
 
DRAWN ON THE ___________________________BANK OF__________________________  
 
IN THE AMOUNT OF $ _______________________ BEARING THE SIGNATURE OF 
 
 ___________________________________________________ HAS BEEN RETURNED  
 
UNPAID WITH THE NOTATION THAT PAYMENT HAS BEEN REFUSED BECAUSE OF: 
 
 ______________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
Unless this check is PAID IN FULL WITHIN FIVE (5) BUSINESS DAYS after mailing of this 
notice, we will or may refer the matter to the proper authorities for prosecution under Minnesota 
State Statutes, Section 609.535, violation of which is either a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, 
or felony, and the financial institution shall release information relating to this checking account 
to the payee or holder of the check. You may also be subject to civil penalties under the civil 
liability State Statutes, Section 604.113, in which penalties include service charges, restitution, 
interest and attorney fees. 
 
REMIT TO: 
_________________________________________________________________________ 
 
ADDRESS: 
_________________________________________________________________________ 
  STREET    CITY   STATE  ZIP CODE 
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604.113 ISSUANCE OF WORTHLESS CHECK. 
    Subdivision 1. Definitions.  
(a) The definitions provided in this subdivision apply to this section. 
(b) "Check" means a check, draft, order of withdrawal, or similar negotiable or 
nonnegotiable instrument. 
(c) "Credit" means an arrangement or understanding with the drawee for the payment of the 
check. 
(d) "Dishonor" has the meaning given in section 336.3-502, but does not include dishonor 
due to a stop payment order requested by an issuer who has a good faith defense to payment 
on the check. "Dishonor" does include a stop payment order requested by an issuer if the 
account did not have sufficient funds for payment of the check at the time of presentment, 
except for stop payment orders on a check found to be stolen.  
(e) "Payee" or "holder" includes an agent of the payee or holder. 
    Subd. 2. Acts constituting. Whoever issues any check that is dishonored is liable for the 
following penalties: 
(a) A service charge, not to exceed $30, may be imposed immediately on any dishonored 
check by the payee or holder of the check, regardless of mailing a notice of dishonor, if 
notice of the service charge was conspicuously displayed on the premises when the check 
was issued. If a law enforcement agency obtains payment of a dishonored check on behalf 
of the payee or holder, up to the entire amount of the service charge may be retained by the 
law enforcement agency for its expenses. Only one service charge may be imposed under 
this paragraph for each dishonored check. The displayed notice must also include a 
provision notifying the issuer of the check that civil penalties may be imposed for 
nonpayment. 
(b) If the amount of the dishonored check is not paid within 30 days after the payee or 
holder has mailed notice of dishonor pursuant to section 609.535 and a description of the 
penalties contained in this subdivision, whoever issued the dishonored check is liable to the 
payee or holder of the check for:  
(1) the amount of the check, the service charge as provided in paragraph (a), plus a civil 
penalty of up to $100 or the value of the check, whichever is greater. In determining the 
amount of the penalty, the court shall consider the amount of the check and the reason for 
nonpayment. The civil penalty may not be imposed until 30 days following the mailing of 
the notice of dishonor. A payee or holder of the check may make a written demand for 
payment of the civil liability by sending a copy of this section and a description of the 
liability contained in this section to the issuer's last known address. Notice as provided in 
paragraph (a) must also include notification that additional civil penalties will be imposed 
for dishonored checks for nonpayment after 30 days; 
(2) interest at the rate payable on judgments pursuant to section 549.09 on the face amount 
of the check from the date of dishonor; and  
(3) reasonable attorney fees if the aggregate amount of dishonored checks issued by the 
issuer to all payees within a six-month period is over $1,250. 
(c) This subdivision prevails over any provision of law limiting, prohibiting, or otherwise 
regulating service charges authorized by this subdivision, but does not nullify charges for 
dishonored checks, which do not exceed the charges in paragraph (a) or terms or conditions 
for imposing the charges which have been agreed to by the parties in an express contract. 
(d) A sight draft may not be used as a means of collecting the civil penalties provided in this 
section without prior consent of the issuer. 
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(e) The issuer of a dishonored check is not liable for the penalties described in paragraph (b) 
if a pretrial diversion program under section 628.69 has been established in the jurisdiction 
where the dishonored check was issued, the issuer was accepted into the program, and the 
issuer successfully completes the program.  
    Subd. 3. Notice of dishonor required. Notice of nonpayment or dishonor that includes a 
citation to this section and section 609.535, and a description of the penalties contained in 
these sections, shall be sent by the payee or holder of the check to the drawer by certified 
mail, return receipt requested, or by regular mail, supported by an affidavit of service by 
mailing, to the address printed or written on the check. The issuance of a check with an 
address printed or written on it is a representation by the drawer that the address is the 
correct address for receipt of mail concerning the check. Failure of the drawer to receive a 
regular or certified mail notice sent to that address is not a defense to liability under this 
section, if the drawer has had actual notice for 30 days that the check has been dishonored. 
An affidavit of service by mailing shall be retained by the payee or holder of the check. 
    Subd. 4. Proof of identity. The check is prima facie evidence of the identity of the issuer 
if the person receiving the check: 
(a) records the following information about the issuer on the check, unless it is printed on 
the face of the check: 
(1) name; 
(2) home or work address; 
(3) home or work telephone number; and 
(4) identification number issued pursuant to section 171.07;  
(b) compares the issuer's physical appearance, signature, and the personal information 
recorded on the check with the issuer's identification card issued pursuant to section 171.07; 
and  
(c) initials the check to indicate compliance with these requirements. 
    Subd. 5. Defenses. Any defense otherwise available to the issuer also applies to liability 
under this section. 
 
 
 
609.535 ISSUANCE OF DISHONORED CHECKS. 
    Subdivision 1. Definitions. For the purpose of this section, the following terms have the 
meanings given them. 
(a) "Check" means a check, draft, order of withdrawal, or similar negotiable or 
nonnegotiable instrument. 
(b) "Credit" means an arrangement or understanding with the drawee for the payment of a 
check. 
    Subd. 2. Acts constituting. Whoever issues a check which, at the time of issuance, the 
issuer intends shall not be paid, is guilty of issuing a dishonored check and may be 
sentenced as provided in subdivision 2a. In addition, restitution may be ordered by the 
court. 
    Subd. 2a. Penalties.  (a) A person who is convicted of issuing a dishonored check under  
subdivision 2 may be sentenced as follows: 
(1) to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than 
$10,000, or both, if the value of the dishonored check, or checks aggregated under 
paragraph (b), is more than $500; 
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(2) to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than 
$3,000, or both, if the value of the dishonored check, or checks aggregated under paragraph 
(b), is more than $250 but not more than $500; or 
(3) to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not more than 
$1,000, or both, if the value of the dishonored check, or checks aggregated under paragraph 
(b), is not more than $250. 
(b) In a prosecution under this subdivision, the value of dishonored checks issued by the 
defendant in violation of this subdivision within any six-month period may be aggregated 
and the defendant charged accordingly in applying this section. When two or more offenses 
are committed by the same person in two or more counties, the accused may be prosecuted 
in any county in which one of the dishonored checks was issued for all of the offenses 
aggregated under this paragraph. 
    Subd. 3. Proof of intent. Any of the following is evidence sufficient to sustain a finding 
that the person at the time the person issued the check intended it should not be paid: 
(1) proof that, at the time of issuance, the issuer did not have an account with the drawee; 
(2) proof that, at the time of issuance, the issuer did not have sufficient funds or credit with 
the drawee and that the issuer failed to pay the check within five business days after mailing 
of notice of nonpayment or dishonor as provided in this subdivision; or 
(3) proof that, when presentment was made within a reasonable time, the issuer did not have 
sufficient funds or credit with the drawee and that the issuer failed to pay the check within 
five business days after mailing of notice of nonpayment or dishonor as provided in this 
subdivision. 
Notice of nonpayment or dishonor that includes a citation to and a description of the 
penalties in this section shall be sent by the payee or holder of the check to the maker or 
drawer by certified mail, return receipt requested, or by regular mail, supported by an 
affidavit of service by mailing, to the address printed on the check. Refusal by the maker or 
drawer of the check to accept certified mail notice or failure to claim certified or regular 
mail notice is not a defense that notice was not received. 
The notice may state that unless the check is paid in full within five business days after 
mailing of the notice of nonpayment or dishonor, the payee or holder of the check will or 
may refer the matter to proper authorities for prosecution under this section. 
An affidavit of service by mailing shall be retained by the payee or holder of the check. 
    Subd. 4. Proof of lack of funds or credit. If the check has been protested, the notice of 
protest is admissible as proof of presentation, nonpayment, and protest, and is evidence 
sufficient to sustain a finding that there was a lack of funds or credit with the drawee. 
    Subd. 5. Exceptions. This section does not apply to a postdated check or to a check given 
for a past consideration, except a payroll check or a check issued to a fund for employee 
benefits. 
    Subd. 6. Release of account information to law enforcement authorities. A drawee 
shall release the information specified below to any state, county, or local law enforcement 
or prosecuting authority which certifies in writing that it is investigating or prosecuting a 
complaint against the drawer under this section or section 609.52, subdivision 2, clause 
(3)(a), and that 15 days have elapsed since the mailing of the notice of dishonor required by 
subdivisions 3 and 8.  
This subdivision applies to the following information relating to the drawer's account:  
(1) documents relating to the opening of the account by the drawer and to the closing of the 
account; 
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(2) notices regarding nonsufficient funds, overdrafts, and the dishonor of any check drawn 
on the account within a period of six months of the date of request; 
(3) periodic statements mailed to the drawer by the drawee for the periods immediately prior 
to, during, and subsequent to the issuance of any check which is the subject of the 
investigation or prosecution; or 
(4) the last known home and business addresses and telephone numbers of the drawer. 
The drawee shall release all of the information described in clauses (1) to (4) that it 
possesses within ten days after receipt of a request conforming to all of the provisions of 
this subdivision. The drawee may not impose a fee for furnishing this information to law 
enforcement or prosecuting authorities. 
A drawee is not liable in a criminal or civil proceeding for releasing information in 
accordance with this subdivision. 
    Subd. 7. Release of account information to payee or holder. (a) A drawee shall release 
the information specified in paragraph (b), clauses (1) to (3) to the payee or holder of a 
check that has been dishonored who makes a written request for this information and states 
in writing that the check has been dishonored and that 30 days have elapsed since the 
mailing of the notice described in subdivision 8 and who accompanies this request with a 
copy of the dishonored check and a copy of the notice of dishonor. 
The requesting payee or holder shall notify the drawee immediately to cancel this request if 
payment is made before the drawee has released this information. 
(b) This subdivision applies to the following information relating to the drawer's account: 
(1) whether at the time the check was issued or presented for payment the drawer had 
sufficient funds or credit with the drawee, and whether at that time the account was open, 
closed, or restricted for any reason and the date it was closed or restricted; 
(2) the last known home address and telephone number of the drawer. The drawee may not 
release the address or telephone number of the place of employment of the drawer unless the 
drawer is a business entity or the place of employment is the home; and 
(3) a statement as to whether the aggregated value of dishonored checks attributable to the 
drawer within six months before or after the date of the dishonored check exceeds $250; for 
purposes of this clause, a check is not dishonored if payment was not made pursuant to a 
stop payment order. 
The drawee shall release all of the information described in clauses (1) to (3) that it 
possesses within ten days after receipt of a request conforming to all of the provisions of 
this subdivision.  
The drawee may require the person requesting the information to pay the reasonable costs, 
not to exceed 15 cents per page, of reproducing and mailing the requested information. 
(c) A drawee is not liable in a criminal or civil proceeding for releasing information in 
accordance with this subdivision. 
    Subd. 8. Notice. The provisions of subdivisions 6 and 7 are not applicable unless the 
notice to the maker or drawer required by subdivision 3 states that if the check is not paid in 
full within five business days after mailing of the notice, the drawee will be authorized to 
release information relating to the account to the payee or holder of the check and may also 
release this information to law enforcement or prosecuting authorities. 
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Return to Officer_______________________ICR_________________Date__________________ 

 

 

 

 
Return These Documents: 

• Notice and Demand for Payment, Date Sent _______________ 
• Forgery Affidavit (if applicable) 
• Registered Mail Receipt or Notarized Affidavit of Mail Service  
• Original Check 
• Sales Receipt (if applicable) 

On back of form, describe any contacts, phone calls, etc., you’ve had with the passer in attempting to collect the check. Include 
any promises to pay or admission about the writing of the check, the date, time, and nature of the contact. 
  

EDINA POLICE DEPARTMENT 

Fraudulent Check and Credit Card Report 

Complainant/Victim: 
Name & Title_________________________________Business_______________________________________  
 
Bus. Address_____________________________________City________________ Ph. ___________________  
 
Home Address____________________________________City________________ Ph. ___________________ 

Person Accepting Check or Credit Card 
Name & Title________________________________Business______________________________________ 
 
Bus. Address____________________________________City________________ Ph.___________________ 
 
Home Address___________________________________City________________ Ph.___________________ 

Person Passing Check or Credit Card 
Name first____________________________________middle______________________last___________________________________ 
 
Address______________________________________City_____________________State______Zip_______ 
 
Phone__________________________________  Observe MN DL or photo ID?     Yes______ No______ 
 
Did passer match MN photo ID? Y___ N___ MN DL or nonqualified ID #_______________________ 
 
Description- Race___________ Sex____ Age____ Ht_______ Wt_______ Hair______________________ 
 
Add’l_________________________________________________Can you identify?    Yes______ No______ 

Document Data  
Class:  NSF____   No Account____   Account Closed____   Forgery____   Credit Card Fraud____ 
 
Type:    Business____   Personal____   Payroll____   Other____________________________________ 
 
Check #__________ Credit Card/Check Acct #__________________Dated__________ Amt $________ 
 
Bank or Company drawn on _______________________________________________________________ 
 
Issued to (Payee) __________________________________________ Maker’s Signature______________ 
 
Merchandise received (incl. cash) ___________________________________________________________ 


